Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
magicman2u

Buffalo area New Gardener!

magicman2u
18 years ago

Hello all I am from North Tonawanda NY. I have been Gardening for only 3 years but I have soo many plants already. Maybe to many. I have come across a couple problems. First I have big plant blocking smaller plants and I am afraid to move them for fear they won't survive and won't bloom. Second I had many plants falling over on top of others and need to fix this this year. I also need compost or something to rejuvinate this soil. Its not bad soil it just need some help. I will pay for some good compost if anyone in the area is will to give it up. Here is a Question I need an answer to. In the Fall I did not rake the leaves and they are all laying in the beds. Is this Bad? When should I start removing them..I don't want to disturb possible seeds and dorment plants. Also the rain and watering has compacted the soil in my beds. Should I lossen the soil and when should I do this. I have so much to learn in Gardening and so little time....Thank Magicman!

Comments (16)

• penny1947
    18 years ago

Hey there Magicman
    Welcome from another gardener in N. Tonawanda. Right now I can't help you on the compost as I make my own but on a limited basis since I don't have a big area for a large compost pile but if I did I would be more than happy to share. You could do trench composting by adding organic matter right to the soil by digging a trench or hole an putting the organic material right into the hole or trench and covering it with about an inch of soil. As the matter decomposes it will supply nutrients for the surrounding plants. When I first started composting I used this method as I didn't have a definite area where I could set a compost pile nore did I generate enough matter to add to one...amazing how that has changed in just a couple of years.