Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
madorley

digging peones

madorley
19 years ago

when is it safe to move peones? how deeply should I dig? How far out from the crown? any other peone saving info? They have probably been in their current spots many years.

Lisa

Comments (8)

• tracywag
    19 years ago

I am not an expert, but while you wair for a more learned response, let me tell you about my peonies! They had been in the same spot for years wehn we bought htis house and my husband hated them there. I didn't want to give up on perfectly healthy plants, so I transplanted them. From one large clump I came out with tons of plants. It seems that ever little crown section thrived. Odd thing is, I moved them to the north foundation of my house, about this time of year. That was five years ago, and it looks like they need to be divided again.

All this leads me to believe that peonies are not as fragile as some would have you believe. Or maybe I've inherited some wierd mutant shade-loving, neglect seeking variety that I should market.

Good luck,
    Tracy

• mad_gallica (z5 Eastern NY)
    19 years ago

Peonies are usually moved in the fall. The roots are quite brittle, so it's almost impossible to move them without breaking them off. I've heard they can also be moved now, while they are still dormant.

I'd start digging about a foot away from the peony, and try to get down at least a foot or two. After you get it up, then it can divided into pieces. Each piece should have at least one growing eye (a red bump that is going to turn into a leaf stalk). Replant them with the eyes an inch or two below the surface.

• faltered
    19 years ago

I dug up and moved some of my peonies in the fall. I only got one flower out of all of them last year. I've read that they need at least a year or two to recover from the move.

• Carol_from_ny
    19 years ago

Peonies need at least a year or two after being planted or transplanted before they will bloom/rebloom.