Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kim1111

Rochester-area Gardeners

kim1111
18 years ago

Hello all!

I'm new to the Rochester area and want to locate all the gardening resources in the area. I'm near the lake in North Greece. I'd love to hear some recommendations for garden clubs, nurseries, garden centers, public gardens, etc.

I've been gardening for years in northern New England and am pleasantly surprised to find that this is the highest "zone number" I've ever lived in!

Thanks!

Kim

Comments (6)

• dontknow
    18 years ago

Hello.

You may have already found some of these:

VanPutte - North Greece Road
    The Garden Factory - Buffalo Road

Also..Harris Gardens, Wayside, and don't forget the Public Market downtown.

• gottagarden
    18 years ago

GO to a nursery and get the Upstate Gardener's Journal. It's free and list all the different events, nurseries, etc.

The RCGC Rochester Civic Garden Center puts on lots of great events.

Welcome to Rochester!

• lilylouise
    18 years ago

For perennials-Sara's in Brockport. Worth the drive.
    Close to you-Green Acres on Latta Road.

• PollyNY
    18 years ago

Hi Kim, welcome to Rochester. I live about 60 miles east of Rochester, but spent a lot of my youth in the city with a beloved aunt, and try to get back often. If you don't get a lot of replies here, I would expect that's because everyone is out sniffing their beautiful lilacs. My favorite place to be is Highland Park, not just for the lilac festival, but to see the flora spring, summer and fall. My favorite nursery there is Wayside, in Macedon-- not too far out of the city. Polly

• marybz5ny
    18 years ago

Hi Kim,