Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
scijox

Musa Basjoo in WNY

scijox
15 years ago

Hi, I live in Western New York (near Buffalo) and I was wondering if there's any nursery that sells Musa Basjoo. I really like the tropical look as it is extremely eye catching in WNY. I tried Lockwoods but they said they don't carry Basjoo due to a lack of interest (people complained they died over the harsh Buffalo winter). However with the amount of leaves I have at my house I am sure I could supply enough mulch to get it through the coldest of buffalo winters. If anyone has any suggestions of what nurseries to try I'll be sure to check them out.

Thanks,

James.

Comments (25)

• tropicalbuffalo
    15 years ago

First of all, I am new to his forum and this is my first post. Its a great source of information!
    I live close to Buffalo and tried to find M. Basjoo in a few local places and could not. I just bought a plant online (ebay) and had it delivered about 10 days ago. It was a very small plant (about 3-4" in size), but has been doing good so far. It had given out a new leave few days ago and I can see another leave half way out! With the weather here going up and down, I have it indoors by a sunny window. I hope to bring it out in a few weeks and I plan to over-winter it outdoors with mulch. Lets see!!

• scijox
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Yeah nobody seems to have it around here I'm sure it will make a great conversation piece. I guess I'll have to go online as well.

• penny1947
    15 years ago

James
    Check out this Link Is anyone in z5 growing musa basjoo?
    Penny

• scijox
    Original Author
    15 years ago