Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
matt_v

Veg Gardens...How yooz doin'?

matt_v
18 years ago

Greetings! Weather forecasts have me wondering what to do next in my Veg Garden. I got a late start this year, because its my first time attempting this. I had to prepare the site, order the soil, and mound it up in 3foot rows, following the WORD or French intensive method. Right now, I have Spinach, Radish, and Lettuce started. These plants have been in for 3 weeks and and are sprouting and look OK. Beets and Swiss Chard may or may not be up yet, I have no idea what the seedlings look like. Since we are stuck in the 50-60's for highs, these crops should be fine...

But what of my Beans? Squash, Pumpkins, Cukes, Corn, Peppers and Tomatoes??? I can't plant them in this cool cruddy weather right? If I wait until June, will I even get a harvest? CNY Gardeners in Z4-6, help me out?? What are you doing about this?

Any tricks???

Comments (4)

• Anne_Marie_Alb
    18 years ago

WORD.. Wide rows
    Organic methods
    Raised beds
    Deep soil

You must have The Vegetable Gardener's Bible by Ed Smith.. Love this book!

Yes, things are behind in the veggie garden... Except for my greens, I don't have much planted. I actually had my first lettuce 10 days ago, and my first Swiss chards last Friday.. but for the warmth-loving veggies, it would not really help to plant them before night temps get a little warmer. However, I did cover my beds a while back with black plastic and the soil under there is much warmer. I do plan to plant my tomato seedlings as soon as I have time--hopefully tomorrow. You can also use cover rows and 'walls of water' to keep them warmer.