Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
elgliders

Storm Damage?

elgliders
18 years ago

Did anyone get any damage from the storms yesterday?

I ran out around noon to take some of my 40 or 50 loose pots of plants into the garage or greenhouse for shelter. The Weather Channel was calling for strong winds and hail. As the winds and rain started,I picked up a window box full of flowers,and turned to my right to see two 8 foot sections of stockade fence airborne and coming at me. Luckily,they caught their bottoms on the top of one of my raised beds and flipped down before they got to me or my greenhouse windows.

Needless to say it scared the hell out of me. The impact whooped some tomato plants and pepper plants.

The pond and arbor were spared,but the impact also wiped out one of my prized lupines that was in full bloom with 15 or 20 tall red spikes and sheared the top off a potted palm that I've been babying for 2 or 3 years.

Oh well,the fence is fixed,and all is right again. Just a reminder that Mother Nature can be a cruel old gal when she wants to.

Comments (7)

• herbalbetty
    18 years ago

A stand of my lupines also got knocked over by the winds, as did my comfrey, which was in prime condition. A trellis took off (obviously, it is not sunk into the ground as well as it should be) and various small limbs came down. Not as bad as it could have been!

• Aurore
    18 years ago