Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tengreenfingers

Theories on Garden Pests

tengreenfingers
11 years ago

After reading up on some organic gardening and problems we all will encounter (since I'm new to this veggie garden thing I have to educate myself) throughout the season, I thought I would see if anyone has some personal experiences they would like to share about this topic.

I think of a million things I would like to discuss. First off, does anyone else believe that if your soil is richly flush with the proper nutrients and getting what it needs to thrive and provide for your plants it will be generally pest-free? I keep thinking that if you have unhealthy plants due to pest damage it is Earth's way of saying, sorry but those plants wouldn't have survived anyway so I sent those bugs to get rid of those plants! Not sure if I think I'm just going nutso but I feel like the people who's gardens appear to be just flourishing and bearing lovely fruits and things are typically not too bothered by pests. I already noticed that I had lace bugs and eggs laid (which I quickly kill with my fingers) on my eggplant leaves right after transplanting them into my garden. Now that they have adjusted to being there I see they aren't really a problem anymore. Weird right? Maybe my plants were stressed out from the transplant and the bugs were attracted because it was under some stress?

Okay, so maybe my theory that the soil is not quite right is a bit silly to some... but is there anyone who can attest to this? At all?

Or just shed some light on how you dealt with a pest problem.

**Currently I am dealing with grubs eating my cabbage family roots! Ew. They are nasty little buggers but I ordered some Beneficial Nematodes and hopefully they are going to do some good things. Any advice on dealing with these pests let me know what you did.

Comments (5)

• remy_gw
    11 years ago