Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
phylrae

Anyone have experience/success w/'new' fancier heucheras?

phylrae
15 years ago

I would LOVE to have a few more heucheras (coral bells) for their fancy foliage. But I have read that many of them just die out easily...or are not vigorous. Does anyone here in our area have any experience/success with growing some of the newer varieties? All I have is Palace Purple I believe. It is nice (I use the foliage for my bouquets). I so much want to find some other colors/variegated varieties that people in our zones have had GOOD success growing over a period of a few years or so.

They are too expensive for me to have to treat as annuals!

Thanks! :0) Phyl

Comments (5)

• party_music50
    15 years ago

I grow a lot of heuchs -- but I wouldn't consider them "new" if I've been growing them for a few years. Every year they flood the market with the latest craze heucheras...

As far as dying out, sometimes you can just get a weak specimen -- or give it a lousy growing spot. I bought 4 Peach Melbas two years ago, and only one of the four isn't growing great.

I grow several Heuchera cultivars, and I've only ever lost two. One (Lime Ricky) was almost dead-on-arrival in an order from Park's and it didn't survive, but I've heard of others having problems with it. The other was a 'Marmalade' that I bought two years ago in late autumn from a local nursery. The cats kept digging it out of the ground and eventually it just didn't survive. :) (so animals would be another reason for them dying out. lol!)