Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
loves_flower

Gardenias

loves_flower
17 years ago

For Mother's Day, my Mom sent me a gardenia plant. I need to know if I should seperate the plants since it looks like there are 4 plants. Should I plant them outside or put into pots and keep them indoors? I have never had the pleasure of growing this plant before so I am new to the whole thing. I would really appreciate all the input I can get.

Comments (2)

• susanzone5 (NY)
    17 years ago

Gardenias aren't hardy here (except for one I just planted which is supposed to be hardy...smells delicious). You have to keep it indoors for the cold winter. I've never been lucky with them so maybe someone else can give you cultural directions. They get spider mites easily and need lots of humidity. Enjoy the flowers while they are there. Don't mess with transplanting while it's in bloom or the shock will cause buds to drop off.

• hammerl
    17 years ago

I keep mine on my porch all summer, and bring it in when the temperatures start to drop in the fall. Two winters ago it made it OK in my living room. Last winter, I moved it to the landing, which has a south-facing window and is just outside the bathroom. It loved it, and is huge, but hasn't bloomed this year. It seems to love the humidity, though, and is always happier outdoors in the summer.

My sister has a massive one that's about five years old. She overwinters it in an enclosed patio that has no heat. She keeps it in a large box. When temperatures dip below 10 or so, she adds crumpled newspaper to the box and covers it with a sheet. Hers bloomed like crazy and is absolutely gorgeous.