Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
littlefrog_gw

Rabbits!

littlefrog
17 years ago

Hi! I've been on gardenweb for a while, but this is my first time posting on this forum. I was just wondering if anyone else has had worse rabbit problems than usual this year. They usually nibble at my lillies and my tulips every year, but this year they're eating everything! I have seen six in my yard at one time this summer (they even come onto my patio and climb into pots when I'm standing a few feet away!) when before I never saw them during the day. They got into my vegetable garden through the chicken wire and ate everything once, and then again when I replanted, this time using a spray repellant. Then they ate the marigolds I planted around it to keep them out.

I think the most heartbreaking part was when I when outside to find that the three clematis plants that were covering one whole length of my chainlink fence had been chewed off at the base. I had been away for a few days, and the whole fence was coved in dead vines and flowers.

I'm thinking its because of the mild winter we had, but I'm not sure. has anyone else noticed this?

Jill

Comments (13)

• adirondackgardener
    17 years ago

Sorry to hear of your bunny problems. I'll count my blessings in that I don't recall seeing a single rabbit since I moved here 6 years ago.

Wayne

• adirondackgardener
    17 years ago

Oh, and hi littlefrog! Not used to seeing you over here!

Wayne

• bloomville
    17 years ago

I have noticed a lot more rabbit action as well. They have decimated my newly planted royal ferns and Christmas ferns and hit the carrot bed hard. Suddenly the arrogance of Bugs Bunny's whattsup doc routine really means something to me, and for the first time--pacifist that I am--I'm seeing Elmer Fudd's perspective in a new light!!