Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
disneynut1977

How's everybody doing in Upstate right now?

I for 1, can't wait till mid-oct. I am having a bunch of mulch brought in and will be converting my whole side yard to flower beds. I have been getting my garlic bed ready for planting too. This is my first year with garlic and I'm planting 7 varities. Will post before and after pic's when I get the mulch inplace. I am half way done with doing a trench border and will lay down 2 layers of carboard and top off with about 6 inches of mulch. I'm gonna go from a huge patch of lawn to a huge patch of mulch. Should give me ton's of space for my WS babies next summer.

melissa

Comments (6)

• misskimmie
    15 years ago

I love to hear about everyones projects, it inspires me so. I am winding down a GREAT gardening year. I WS'ed last year for the first time. Biggest problem with that was finding room for the babies. But it did give me a great harvest. I've been canning and freezing and the house has been filled with fresh flowers.

I haven't made any future gardening plans yet ( I'm sure I will ) except that I plan to WS again.

You did remind me to pick up garlic from a local farmer. Last year I decided almost to late to plant gaelic and had to buy garlic for seed at the grocery store, What are the 7 kinds that you are planting?

kim

• disneynut1977 ~ Melissa
    Original Author
    15 years ago

I have Siberian, Lorz Italian, Chesnok Red, Red Toch, Zemo, Pink Music, and Georgain Crystal. If I like growing garlic, I will add a few more next year.

Melissa

• misskimmie
    15 years ago

Did you order, trade or buy garlic locally?

kim

Original Author
    15 years ago

I bought them off Ebay from 2 different sellers. Both sent very nice garlic and also sent extra.

Melissa

Original Author
    15 years ago