Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
roch_plantgirl

Gladiola still green??

roch_plantgirl
18 years ago

Hi everyone!

This is my first year gardening, and I planted some gladiola bulbs that flowered wonderfully around August.

I've read that I'm supposed to dig up the bulbs once the leaves turn yellow and winter them in a cool, dry place...problem is, my leaves are still green!

Shouldn't they be yellow by now? Anyone else having this problem? Should I be concerned?

Comments (7)

• penny1947
    18 years ago

roch,
    I can't be bothered digging mine up so they stay in the ground all winter. Mine are planted up next to the house on the western side of the house so maybe it is warmer there but mine come back each year. Mine are still green also. I did end up pulling two out over the week end while I was cleaning up the bed a little and now I have to figure out what I am going to do with it for the winter. I may just stick them back in the ground . By the time mine finally turn brown we usually already have snow and I am not about to go digging up bulbs in the snow. If yours are in a protected area they may just be fine where they are.

Penny

• faltered
    18 years ago

Mine were green also. But I didn't want to lose them to the frosts, so I dug them up. The leaves turned yellow in about two weeks. Then I cut the leaves off and put the corms in brown paper bags.

This was my first year with glads and they were wonderful. Not sure how hardy the varieties I have are, so I didn't risk it. Maybe next year I"ll leave a few in the ground and see what happens.

Tracy

• roch_plantgirl
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Well, the kind I have don't seem to be anything special - just a variety pack from the store. I guess I'll leave them in for now, and if they yellow when it's still decent out, I'll dig them up.

Thanks for the advice!

• penny1947
    18 years ago

Mine originally came from Wal Mart and they were very cheap. They have been in the ground for 7 yrs now.