Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
country_citygirl

When is it safe to put gallon or smaller plants in the ground?

country-citygirl
10 years ago

I'm new to Utah and need to know when it's safe to plant gallon or smaller plants in the ground without them freezing. In California I could start planting in March. I have read I should wait till Mother's Day here. Any advice would be very helpful.

Comments (8)

• dm_kelly
    10 years ago

Depending on what part of Utah you're in, mother's day is a good goal. Here in Utah, you'll get good at starting your seedlings in the house and then just staring out the window wishing it would get warmer faster.

• country-citygirl
    Original Author
    10 years ago

I have always wanted to start plants inside. However, I have tried in the past with no success. Do I use a heat light to keep the seedlings warm? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Starting from seed is much less expensive and much more rewarding then buying plants at the store.

• dm_kelly
    10 years ago

I think I do things a little different than most people here. I use the ziplock bag starting method with my heated floors (trip hazard if not careful :) then move the little sprouts to planting cells. Along with my heated floors, I also have lots of windows and access to a greenhouse so I haven't needed grow lights. You do need to keep the little guys from getting chilled or it stunts their growth. I also found I like the plastic grow cells so much more than the peat pots. Peat pots mold and the plants just doesn't thrive for me in them. Hope this helps!

• Ann_02
    10 years ago