Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nutmeg002_gw

Seed varieties?

nutmeg002
17 years ago

I am fairly new to Utah gardening and was wondering if anyone had advice on melon or cucumber or corn varieties that are really good here. I have been reading all the seed cataloges, ploting and planning my garden.

Comments (10)

• stevation
    17 years ago

I don't know about the melons and cukes (I think any cuke will grow here, probably), but I have grown corn most years. We've enjoyed Silver Queen quite a bit. But a new variety caught my attention in an email from Park's Seed. It's called Mirai, and you just have to read the description from their website. It's almost breathless and gushing! Kind of funny how over-the-top they went with the description, but hey, it convinced me to buy a pack! I'll grow it this summer. The link is below

Here is a link that might be useful: Mirai corn

• jimh6278
    17 years ago

I have grown Diva cukes for years. The plant has all female flowers which produce a lot of fruit. Almost seedless and very thin sweet skin. Never needs peeling. The reason I grow them is to save space. We do not put cukes up and only need enough for fresh. A few plants on a trellis will do for a family and neighbors.

• nutmeg002
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Thanks for the info! Are the Diva cukes in most of the catalogs?

• jimh6278
    17 years ago

I think they are in many. I bought mine from Johnny's but they are also in Jung. The variety I am most interested this year is the hybrid Zukes from johnny's that can be trellised and don't need pollination. I would love to get a few fresh without a large area devoted to hills. My main Zuke crop comes from Costata Romanesco. I have asked Johnny's, who breed a lot of their own seeds, if they would try to breed a hybrid with a smaller footprint but so far no luck. They are so good and different they get their own space anyway.

• zachslc
    17 years ago

Trombocino is a climbing "zucchini".

• bindersbee