Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
utahrose_gw

Gardening Newbie Needs Advice

utahrose
15 years ago

Just getting interested in gardening as I moved to a house in Salt Lake CIty with a big yard last fall. I've never done a bit of gardening before, and wow, there is so much to learn! I'm more than a little confused. I'm wondering if anyone has some advice for me about:

1.) What zone are we in? I seem to read a lot of conflicting reports. I live in Rose Park area of SLC, and some people have told me I'm 6B, others 7. When is the last frost date, typically?

2.) Any nurseries that others can recommend for quality, selection and price? I like the idea of supporting local businesses when I can.

3.) Easy plants to grow for a beginner? I've been thinking about doing some square foot gardening with tomatoes, basil, rosemary, strawberries, lettuce, carrots, pumpkins and cucumbers, zucchini, peppers, cilantro and rosemary. Is that just too ambitious? (also do squash and pumpkins even work in SFG?

4.) Also - is it too late to start my plants indoors? Can I just buy seedlings?

5.) Any other online forums? Or other local resources, classes or recommended books?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Comments (7)

• jimh6278
    15 years ago

I also live in Rose Park. I believe we are Zone 6 moving toward 7. That, however, doesn't have a lot of impact on vegetable gardening. Most of your vegetables are annuals with a few biannuals. Your soil probably has a pH of 7 but you might want to check.

Western Garden Center downtown is a good source of information, starts, soil amendments, etc. It is located at 6E between 5th and 6th south. Tina, Ben, Joel, & Lee are all very knowledgeable and active gardeners that can answer specific questions.

• bpgreen
    15 years ago