Return to the Utah Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
What are you growing in your garden this year?

Posted by sf_mia 5 (My Page) on
Mon, May 20, 13 at 2:05

Hi all,

I'm new to Northern Utah. We moved here in december. We were from San Diego where the growing season is year round. Since I am not in a permanent place I am growing in containers this year.

So far I have 3 tomato plants and some lettuce/spinach starts going. I also have a bush cucumber plant started and some mammoth sunflowers. It's all trial for me as I have not grown in this climate before.

What are you guys growing this year? I am curious to see what variety is grown here in Utah.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: What are you growing in your garden this year?

Tomatoes peppers and onions are always staples for our salsa. Beans and vine crops (pumpkin, watermelon, cantalope, squash) do well during the heat of the summer. About august I will plant the cool weather crop for fall = broccoli, cabbage, peas, lettuce, etc.

o

Tomatoes, sweet peas, parsley. Just starting the green onions, as I'm told they are vigorous to the point of taking over here. Mint and lemon balm came up from last year. Sunflowers getting huge. Only my second year gardening at all, ever. But I have a friend with a market garden farm going for her Master Gardener certification, I've been picking her brains.

o

Hi, I am growing sweet peppers, jalapeno peppers, Hungarian wax peppers and anahime peppers, potatoes, corn, cantelope, watermelon, yellow squash, zucchini, tomatoes mini and large, bush beans, radishes, and slice and pickle cucumbers. All are doing well right now.

o

I had an incredibly productive garden this year with 12 different varieties of tomatoes, probably 20 varieties of peppers, cucumbers, eggplant, squash, melons, beets, potatoes, kale, and herbs. There has been a real learning curve with mountain gardening! Every year I learn a little bit more.

o