Return to the Utah Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Fruit Basket Fruit Tree

Posted by bcbloom 7 (My Page) on
Wed, May 9, 07 at 17:28

I am wanting to plant some fruit trees in our yard. (Apple, Pear, Peach) But am unsure of where to buy a good fruit tree - ( I'm new to the Salt Lake area ) Any recommendation? I'm on the West side.
I also heard someone mention a "fruit basket" tree that has several varieties or even different fruits on the same tree. Has anyone had experience with such trees?

Thank you for any advice.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Fruit Basket Fruit Tree

I ordered my trees from a catalog/online, but generally, you order those the season before, unless they still have stock at the end of the season, but then you are planting late. I would try a local nursery. I think the four trees (and at least three or four that we pulled out) were from a big box store, but it could have been the soil and watering that killed them.

As far as "fruit basket" trees, I think they're a little gimicky. Usually the type of place that sells them advertises heavily and has poor customer support, but that's just my impression. I would definately read about them from a reviewer site or get a good recommendation on the company before spending the money. I was tempted by a "strawberry tree" and a "tomato tree" before, and they were not really as advertised. I actually grew the "tomato tree" very fascinating huge leaves and extremely fast growth, but never a single tomato (I abandoned it after it became infested with insects and lost all of its leaves when moving apartments at college). When I did research more recently, I learned that they were advertising ploys for things that aren't really related, except possibly in appearance. I should have noticed that there were illustrations and not photos.