Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bindersbee

My Pergola is up! Finally! attn: Stevation

bindersbee
15 years ago

I have been plotting and planning for this pergola for 5 years. I had the opportunity to buy the wood for the top of the structure 3 years ago at a great price. However, we had A LOT of landscape rennovations to do before we could put up my pergola so it all sat, and sat, and sat. This past weekend we were finally to the point we could build it. Yeah!

We have not put the concrete in the post holes yet- I wanted to get one more coat of copper-infused preservative on the posts before we do the concrete. We also have to space and screw down the upper most cross pieces. Still, it's MOSTLY done. This pic was taken before I stained it. It took 6 hours to stain it all and 2 gallons of stain. Yowza.

We still need to do the sandstone patio beneath it- we'll take that on in a few weeks (I have to save up my pennies for that gorgeous but expensive rock).

There's a long way to go still with the plants as well but that's the easy/fun part.

{{gwi:41797}}

Comments (4)

• dee333
    15 years ago

Hey congrats.....bet you are excited...looks great
    dee in cedar city-who is learning to deal w/ this clay & rock

• stevation
    15 years ago

Hey! Sorry I hadn't checked in here for almost a week. That's looking VERY cool, Bindersbee! Will you create a sitting area under it? What are you planning to grown on it?

This year, I'm growing some Lab-lab bean vines (they get cool purple stems and pods) on my arbor. They're still only a few inches tall, in pots on my deck, but I hope they start growing fast so I can get them out there.

• bindersbee
    Original Author
    15 years ago