Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
utahgal_gw

Newbie here and EVERYTHING is dying

utahgal
15 years ago

OK maybe I'm exaggerating ... :)

Just moved into the Daybreak community and had all our landscaping done ... sod, trees, etc.

We love it here, but we are new at tending beds, keeping things in check ... but most importantly keeping them alive.

Problems are:

1. Grass is yellowing in spots. We water every other day.

I have fertilized (according to the lady at Lowes) Nitrogen and then some other kind of fertilizer.

2. Our front beds don't get complete watering. Can we get additional sprinklers installed to hit these areas?

3. Trees are dying. Our trees by the street have lost almost all their leaves and one of Japanese maples has shriveled up :(

4. My little veggie garden is doing horribly ... my squash is just not thriving ... the leaves are turning yellow. How does someone kill squash!!! I lived back east and had a small veggie garden and man did it thrive! I water it everyday.

Everything out here in Utah is dying and its making me sick. My husband and I want to bring in a Master Gardener to get their take on or situations.

Any Master Gardeners out there? If not .. anyone with answers?!

Thanks so much

Comments (9)

• aquawise
    15 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Where at in Utah do you live? Summers here can be very hot and dry. Mulch the ground around your plants water as needed. The yellow my be from lack of iron as the alkali in the soil locks up the other neutrents. We also have more than one zone here. 6 in southern Utah and 3 in northern and the high mountain valleys and 4 midstate. Please give more info please.

• Alliegator
    15 years ago

We don't live in daybreak, but we did just move into a new development. The soils where we are at are very heavy clay, and hold water, so is it possible that your plants are drowning?