Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dori123_gw

Ideas for EASY fruit trees/bushes and nut trees, please?!

dori123
13 years ago

Ok, so I'm a newbie both to the forum and to gardening. Moved to an acre at 5300 feet and I'd like to fill up the side yard (on the east) with something we can eat.

So far, I'm thinking a Gala tree and Granny Smith tree (I understand they cross pollunate) and some sort of peach tree. (Recommendations?)

I've decided against a pecan and walnut -- I'd really love to plant these but I don't think I want trees that big over there. I haven't been able to find any dwarf versions of either.

Instead, I'd like to do some fruit-bearing shrubs. So far, I've narrowed it to Red Raspberry, Western Huckleberry (aka Mountain blueberry?) and Blue Elderberry. Any suggestions? I hear blueberries are finicky here, though we would certainly eat those before the rest.

Which varieties do well at this altitude and are low maintenance? We do have a drip system.

Also, is this just futile, since the mule deer will eat them all anyway?! :0

Comments (2)

• bcreighton7
    13 years ago

"So far, I'm thinking a Gala tree and Granny Smith tree (I understand they cross pollunate) and some sort of peach tree. (Recommendations?)" The Gala tends to get fireblight. It's parent, Yellow Delicious apparently does better. No recommendations for peach other than get an early and a late variety.

"I've decided against a pecan and walnut -- I'd really love to plant these but I don't think I want trees that big over there." Pecan would have to be a northern variety.

"Instead, I'd like to do some fruit-bearing shrubs. So far, I've narrowed it to Red Raspberry, Western Huckleberry (aka Mountain blueberry?) and Blue Elderberry. Any suggestions?" Fine. Also thornless blackberry and boyensberry.