Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fourtoomany

please, please, help my zucinni

fourtoomany
15 years ago

Hello, I have done my backyard in garden boxes and a stone patio. I live in West Jordan, Ut. I am attempting to learn the square foot gardening method. The older my four get, the more I get in to gardening. I have always had zucinni, usually more than I can deal with. But this year something has gone wrong. They are not getting much bigger than my thumb, then the are shriveling up and rotting. No zuccinni the size of baseball bats if you foreget to pick them in a couple of days. Nothing at all! Geez what am I going to put in my freezer this winter! Four

Comments (12)

• bpgreen
    15 years ago

I'm not sure what's wrong with your zucchini this year, but for future reference, if you let them get to the size of a baseball bat, you're missing out on a good thing. I always hated zucchini until I worked in a restaurant and discovered that they should be picked when they're a little bigger around than a quarter and maybe 6 inches long.

• zubababy
    15 years ago

i have had that same thing happen to a couple of my zucchini, but i have still been able to harvest some.
    after reading many posts about this problem....there seems to be many different responses as to why this could happen.
    squash vine borer?
    incomplete pollination?
    soil deficiencies?

i found this site, that may be of some use to you.
    Solutions For Common Problems Growing Zucchini
    Squash Blossom End Rot Causes And Treatment

good luck

• fourtoomany
    Original Author
    15 years ago

I read your links very carefuly, thank you so much. After reading them I will try to look for the spray that was mentioned in the article. And spray next year before I plant.