Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sweetmagnoliame

Design Challenge - For fall planting

sweetmagnoliame
16 years ago

This is my first time to post on this forum, so I'll thank you all in advance for any advice you can offer!

I wish I had a true "before" photo to show you of the space I'm working on designing - envision a patch of weeds, rocks and 300 concrete pavers and you'll be close).It was a mess. Now it's essentially a blank canvas waiting for the artists' touch. That's where y'all come in!

In the photo below, you're looking at the space from the north. The area I'm hoping to design (or at least design first) is on the east side, at the left of the photo. That side is bordered by one of the most unsightly chain link fences I've ever seen - from the era of weaving green and white strips through the links. Hence, although I know we're not supposed to plant in rows, I've planted a row of lilacs of varying colors, in the hope of completely covering that fence with green.

In this photo, you can get an idea of the planting space.

And in this one, a bit more "context" as to how the space fits into the backyard overall.

What I'm hoping to do here is create a perennial or mixed border/bed, starting from the post/Russian sage area and curving back to the edge of the arbor. If you think the arbor goes nowhere, and that it's tilting forward, you're right. At this point, it's just there as a placeholder while I look at it from various points and decide if this is really where I'd like to have a vine covered arbor as a shady spot for one chair and a very small table. I considered putting it in the middle of the concrete block fence at the south end or the yard (under the trumpet vine), but that looks too symmetrical to me. I also considered putting it on the east side of the space (in a photo below), but that will not give me the view of my entire yard that I'd like to enjoy while sitting there.