Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
northslope_gw

advice on fruit and nut trees in Provo

northslope
12 years ago

Hello. I'm planting a 1/3 acre in Provo with some fruit and nut trees. I'm new at this, and would like some feedback. I'm interested in some unusual trees (I have a particular fascination with growing pawpaws--I've decided on some Peterson pawpaws if I can get them). Here are some choices:

Ambassador Walnut

All-in-one Almond

Colossal Chestnut

Nevada Chestnut

Casina Filbert

Duchilly Filbert

Nikita's Gift Persimmon

Illinois Everbearing Mulberry

Allegheny Pawpaw

Shenandoah Pawpaw

Moorpark Apricot

-one more fruit tree

I already have an Asian pear, Santa Rosa Plum, Shiro Plum, and a Montmorency Cherry.

Any comments or advice would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Comments (4)

• gblack
    12 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Unusual trees? How about Nectaplums? Pluots? I planted those a couple years ago. Looking forward to the first harvest next year (well, almost first. Some of the fruit slipped by me last year so I was forced to harvest what was missed.. Some tasty Green Gauge plums...)

• brotherjake
    11 years ago

I looked into pawpaws as well. Turns out they hate heavy soil and we may not have the pollinators that they have out east. I decided against them.
    I have a nectaplum as well as pluots. The flavor king had incredible flavor. I also have a flavor grenade, but our growing season is too short to ripen it sufficiently. Same problem with the Emerald Beaut plum. So much for trusting local nurseries. My nectaplum was still young so I didn't let it fruit. This year I will let it ripen a few. It is a beautiful tree. I would put it in the front yard if my wife would let me. Dave Wilson nursery has a peacotum and a pluerry as well. The flavor ratings on the pluerry are supposed to be very high. Looking forward to that one on a more dwarfing rootstock.