Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
aaanck

Gardening 101

aaanck
17 years ago

This looks to be a forum of experienced gardeners, but I am hoping to get some general information on yardcare and gardening in Utah. I just moved to Salt Lake City so I know nothing about the climate. Also I am a beginner to gardening but would like to get more involved as I have a beautiful yard with many flowers and some vegetables. Having lived in Texas and California most recently, I was suprised to see what are usually summer vegetables still being picked in October! Can anyone offer some guidelines on planting, fertilizing, watering, lawncare, vegetables for the SLC area? Again, my apologies for being a rookie. Also, are there any good gardening books specific to the region or nurseries in the area? Thanks.

Comments (11)

• stevation
    17 years ago

I could give you more later (I'm at work right now), but you should check out USU's Extension service, which has a lot of useful information for Utah gardeners. It's hard to find everything on their site, but they have publications ranging from weekly pest spraying alerts for fruit trees in the summer, to weed identification, to tree selection, and all kinds of stuff.

• bpgreen
    17 years ago

The first bit of advice I'd give you is to be careful about the advice you get on lawn watering. Although we live in the desert, one of the biggest problems most lawns around here has is too much water. From what I've observed, most people here water too much and too often. When I first bought my house, I was watering three times a week (some of my neighbors were watering twice a day). I now water only once a week (if it rains, I usually skip or at least delay a watering cycle). I try to water deeply and infrequently so the grass gets long roots. I also cut my grass tall and mulch mow. These three practices together reduce the need for water and fertilizer and also limit weeds without the need for weed killers.