Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jmgarden

favorite nurseries

jmgarden
17 years ago

Hi - I am relatively new to Utah. What nurseries do you recommend? Can you tell me why you recommend them -- for ex., for variety of plants, price, or customer service? I am very interested in finding some sources of more unusual stuff than the basic echinacea and arbor vitae.

Comments (30)

• bpgreen
    17 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Where in Utah are you? There's a nursery in Bountiful I like because they have some very knowlegeable people who work there and they sometimes have items that aren't stocked at a lot of places (like soil sulfur, eddha iron chelate).

There's one in Layton I like for their variety of plants.

Their names are fairly similar, so I sometimes mix the names up (J&L vs J&J).

• stevation
    17 years ago

When I bought my new house in 2001, I got a killer deal from Tri-City Nursery in Kaysville. I bought 42 trees, 205 shrubs, and a few hundred perennials from them, and they were willing to bargain on the prices pretty well.

I live in Utah County, so locally I often go to Cook's Greenhouse Nursery in Orem.

If you like seeds, you really need to see Granite Seed Company's website. They're in Lehi, and I've been very happy with seeds I've bought there. They are a bulk seller of seed, so go there when you need a lot of something. But they have some great natives and unusual things.

I've also been to Wasatch Shadows in Sandy a few times and liked the service and selection.