Return to the Utah Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
When do you start your seeds indoors?

Posted by sangsara 7A? (My Page) on
Tue, Dec 25, 07 at 19:53

I am relatively new to SLC and I can't seem to figure out when the best time is to start vegetable seeds indoors. I live in the city and have a backyard vegetable garden. When do you start your veggies?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: When do you start your seeds indoors?

I have forgotten the dates as I have been away from SLC for a couple of decades now but I always started a very few, like six frost resistant tomatoes (Frost resistant tomatoes did not resist much frost back then but they did survive near frost conditions for weeks better than others.) - but anyway - I would start like six seed very early and set them out very early and if they failed it was not a big loss and if they survived, as they did about one year out of three, then it was fun.

I should add that I was, and am, a tinkerer, and enjoyed trial and error. Many would not.

o

Here is a good site to look at:

http://www.andersonseedandgarden.com/

They will also send you a handout with all the dates if you ask. Some other seed stores might have the same.

I am starting my perennials right now and will start some cold weather stuff shortly (broccoli, Spinach, and Lettuce).

Sometime mid to end of Jan. I will do Delphs, Snaps and Statice. Mid to end of Feb. Tomatoes, Peppers, Grasses, Millets, Herbs, Campanula, Gomphrena. Mid to end Mar. Cuccumber, Squash, Melons, Pumpkins. Mid April Celosia.

Direct seed: March spinach, lettuce, radish, onions, carrots, peas, larkspur, bells of ireland and nigella. April celery, more lettuce, carrots and glads. May beans, zinnas, sunflowers, amaranthus, safflower, calendula, cosmos, second round of cold weather stuff (see March above).

I hope that helps. You may start a little sooner in SLC than I do here in Cache Valley.

Good luck growing!!

Bryan

o

Hope this isn't too late. I plan the following: