Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bennis_gw

Spanish Moss

bennis
21 years ago

Hello,

I live in northern Virginia and I have an obsession with Spanish Moss. I really would like to grow some in my backyard this spring and summer, but I was wondering if it would die when winter comes. I have a slow moving stream in my backyard, surrounded by trees, and I wanted to know if I could get it to grow back there. The summers around here are extremely humid with a lot of rain, and the winters are mild with a fair amount of snowfall. I just wanted to know if I could get some to grow up here.

Thanks,

Ben

P.S. - Since I am new to GardenWeb, I am having a bit of trouble getting used to using the forums, so I would greatly appreciate it if you could e-mail me your response to me at bgrimes86@att.net; or, you can just post it in the forum. Eiether way is fine. Thanks!!! :)

Comments (47)

• mtngirl
    21 years ago

I don 't think Spanish moss would survive the winters in NOVA. The only place in VA where I've seen it is in extreme SE Va along the coast--and it didn't look like the moss you see in the SC-GA low country. Not as bodacious.

• davisp49
    21 years ago

I brought some Spanish Moss home last year from Gainesville, FL and while it was fine during summer, it died in our winter here in Richmond.

• AaronKleine
    21 years ago

Spanish Moss won't survive a winter in Northern VA. Spanish moss needs constant high humidity and generally temperatures that don't regularly dip below 20. It is found in far Southeast Virginia because they are the only part of the state that have the natural swampy humid area with temperatures that are just warm enough. If you visit the Wildlife refuges in Virginia Beach along the ocean you will find that Spanish moss thrives there, and even though D.C. area is humid in two seasons, throughout the winter it will not survive.