Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tenbabytoes_gw

City Of Virginia Beach Compost & Vegetables

tenbabytoes
16 years ago

I recently watched a video on composting on the acclaimed "Dave's Garden" site (what a rip off- paying for garden forums!!) anway, Dave said that he WOULD NOT use city compost in a vegetable garden. I am new to compost and just put some in a raised garden bed. . .Did I make a mistake? Is City Compost not good for vegetables?

Comments (2)

• meldy_nva
    16 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

There is compost and then there is "composted". I have absolutely no idea why he made that statement, or whether there is any basis in fact for his opinion.

Compost, regardless of who makes it, is made by mixing various proportions of "green" materials and "brown" materials along with enough moisture to dampen and possibly with amendments such as bloodmeal or lime. There are no two identical batches of finished product because there is no way to have the precisely same ingredients in the same amounts. Nonetheless, commercially sold compost is expected to meet certain standards (go to the compost forum for details) and non-commercial but available compost such as from a city is also expected to be safe. Being safe to use according to governmental regulation does not necessarily mean that it meets the standards of most organic gardeners (organic in the original sense, not the governmental definition). City and county compost usually contains leaves and tree debris, but because that debris is taken from everywhere within the jurisdiction, there is no control over whether or not the plant material had ever been exposed to herbicides or pesticides. Many pesticides have a "lifespan" of decades in whatever material, thus making that material a big no-no to the old-fashioned organic gardener who avoids ALL contamination.