Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hanovertomato

Food Lion $13.99 fruit trees

hanovertomato
15 years ago

So.. Food Lion is selling fruit trees for $13.99 each. I know I saw Macintosh apples, Keiffer pears, and peaches (Reliant..maybe? I can't remember) among others. Have they always sold them and I just haven't paid attention before?

The ones I saw are much larger than the bare root trees I've ordered online, and less expensive. These are 6 feet tall or so, with root balls a little larger than a soccer ball. I'm new to fruit trees, but have read that the younger trees are actually better for planting- so I'm hesitant.

What do y'all think? Are they worth buying? I was thinking of getting one of the apples, one of the pears and a peach tree (I have pollinators already for the Macintosh and Keiffer). Thanks for any advice.

Comments (6)

• spencersmom
    15 years ago

WOW! Have they offered these in the past? It's amazing how inventory varies from store to store. Those would not sell at the FL near me. In fact, I don't even buy fruit there to be honest. Well, for $13.99 what can it hurt?

Is there an on-duty florist you can ask? Yeah, our FL doesn't have one of those... or flowers. Blah.

• hanovertomato
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Spencersmom- I was surprised to see them too. I know they have them in several stores in Richmond (located outside, by the entrances), and also in Charlottesville.

Nope, no florist inside. No seeds, no plants, no other gardening stuff for sale. Just random fruit trees and some other varied trees. It's odd.

One Dollar Tree store here had veggie and flower seeds 10/$1 and had plenty, and another had them 4/$1 and couldn't keep them in stock. Strange how stuff like that can vary so much from one neighborhood to another.

• tazebell
    15 years ago