Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mastiffhoo

anyone know where in williamsburg to buy palms?

mastiffhoo
16 years ago

if so, what selection do they have? thanks!

Comments (7)

• markmcb
    16 years ago

The Williamsburg Pottery is probably the only place. I too live in Wmsbg, and I love the nursery at the pottery.Aaron, the manager, likes tropical plants and probably stocks more than any other nursery that I have seen in this area.

• lnscapr
    16 years ago

I am a landscape designer in Williamsburg... Palms are not hardy here in Williamsburg except for Windmill palms that may survive our winters. Bennett's Creek Nursery may have one or two of these.....but it is a wholesale facility and only sells to professionals. Your landscaper may be able to help you here.

• douginmetrodc
    16 years ago

Hello! Well, lnscapr, you may want to rethink that hardiness statement. Here in Alexandria I can grow, in addition to Trachycarpus fortunei (Chinese windmill palm), a host of hardy palm species. These include Butia capitata (Jelly or Pindo palm--hardy to 12 F & sometimes need protection), Rhapidophyllum hystrix (Needle palm--hardy to 0 F), Sabal minor (Dwarf Palmetto--hardy to about 5 F), and there are others that tolerate significant levels of frost, including a Mexican Fan Palm, European Fan Palm, Palmetto, and others.

A good source of information about palms hardy through zone 7 can be found on the Hardy Palm and Subtropicals board:
    http://members3.boardhost.com/HardyPalm/

I know people in southeast Virginia who can grow Canary Island Date Palms in a nice sandy soil!

Enjoy your palms! I'm growing some from seed this year....should be fun.

Here is a link that might be useful: Hardy Palm and Subtropicals Board

• douginmetrodc
    16 years ago