Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
heartrn_gw

David Austins in Virginia?

HeartRN
19 years ago

Hi, all! I've been a lurker around here for a while now, and, needless to say, my plant collection is growing by leaps and bounds! I'm very new to gardening, and because I live in a townhouse and have seriously limited yard space, most of my plants are in containers. I have recently fallen in love with the David Austin roses and would like to try a couple in some large containers. However, from what I'm seeing on this forum, they don't really like our area with the hot, humid summers. Is this really the case? If anyone has had any success with the DA's in the area (particularly the Ashburn area), whether in the ground or in containers, I'd love to hear about it!

Thanks so much for all your help (past, present, and future!) :-)

Charlene

Comments (23)

• slubberdegulion
    19 years ago

I can't say the David Austins that briefly graced my yard weren't pretty, but they did seem to succumb to blackspot quickly. Brother Cadfael was slow to start, but puts out lovely foliage (unless the 'spot gets it) and huge flowers (I didn't think they had a very strong fragrance). Scepter'd Isle and Noble Antony were pretty, but not productive. Then there's Snow Goose, which did very well (it's a white rambler with tiny little flowers that start pink and then turn white and look a little frowzy). The flowers had a light scent, but when they started turning brown, ick. And there were LOTS of flowers. All those are prospering at a friend's house, she claims they rarely get blackspot for her (@#*&!) and bloom very well.