Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
keri_2007

Border plants

keri_2007
16 years ago

Good morning all,

I am very new at gardening and am working on growing my first yard of grass. :) Just letting you know how new I am to all of this. I need some help. I have a blank acre that needs beautifying. For starters I need some suggestions on a natural boarder that is about 230 feet long or so. On the other side of this border is my neighbors driveway and about 2ft of unkept tree's and underbrush.

Thanks in advance and will be posting more as I can learn to keep things alive! haha

Comments (2)

• gaitten
    16 years ago

Depending on your light conditions, the first thing that came to mind for me was ornamental grasses. Over the course of 230 feet, you could have some fund matching up some contrasting forms with a variety of large grasses. With that 2 ft border of unkempt space, you'll want something that competes well and will help crowd out the weeds. I'd be tempted to fill in around the grasses with a variety of daylillies for extra summer color. Try some variegated Miscanthus, maybe some Pampas, some Karl Forrester Feather Reed Grass, and Panicum 'Heavy Metal".

Re-reading your post, I'm wondering if the unkept trees you reference put you in a shaded situation, much more difficult challenge. If you're not in full sun, the grasses won't thrive. My favorite shrub for shade is Nandina... might try a mix of domestica and a dwarf like "Firepower". In front, mix in blue hostas for a fun color contrast.

Just a couple of ideas. Try to plant large groups of similar plants, but also work in variation. Also, don't forget to plant a few hundred spring bulbs like daffodils to help create some drama in Spring -- neither the grasses nor Nandina look like much in May.

Finally, I would encourage you to take advantage of the long linear lines of 230 feet... either make the bed edge a laser straight line, or play with disappearing curves from a common view point.