Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
karoni_gw

Zinnias

karoni
11 years ago

I am a novice gardener and am looking for some advice. I have a very skinny flower bed next to my sidewalk. It is one foot wide by thirteen feet long. It gets lots of sun. I'd like to plant zinnias there this May and I'd like them to be prolific--really take up the whole bed--as opposed to being planted with lots of space between them. How many zinnias would you buy and how far apart (or close) would you plant them?

Thanks for any replies.

Comments (2)

• meldy_nva
    11 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

If that was my area: Visit the local plant nursery and buy a 6-pack of plants. Read the label carefully to see how tall they are (I noticed both 12" and 30" earlier this month). Then buy a packet of seed of the opposite height ~ if the plants are 12" at maturity, buy seeds for tall ones or vice versa. If there is a choice of heights available, I'd prefer 8" and 20". Well-spaced zinnias will be bushy while crowded plants tend to be skinny and floppy. Bushy 20" plants will hang over the sidewalk but not too much, whereas a 36" plant may be obnoxious to walk past. Also, 24" and shorter plants don't need to be staked, but I always end up having to stake the taller ones in July; unstaked tall zinnias have a tendency to flop and wind storms will push them over.