Return to the Virginia Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Newbie gardener here, curious as to what you guys are up to

Posted by TheKitchenette 7a Central VA (My Page) on
Thu, Jun 14, 12 at 13:46

Just discovered the VA gardening forum. I had no idea there were regional forums! I'm new to vegetable gardening, my first transplants went in this past March (broccoli, cauliflower, collards, mustard, spinach, arugula, and kale - only the collards and mustard really flourished). I planted a variety of snap and shelling beans from seed, and I've got 10 tomato plants, 3 pepper plants, 2 eggplants, 3 squash and 1 cucumber planted. So far, I haven't killed anything (that I can tell) so I'm counting that as my greatest victory, until I harvest my first tomato or bean, of course.

Just curious if anyone else is growing veg in VA and what you guys are up to...

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Newbie gardener here, curious as to what you guys are up to

Yes, there are many people growing veggies in central VA. I don't have as extensive a garden this year as I have in most years past, but I MUST have some vegetables growing every summer. This year the garden consists of tomatoes, peppers, cucumbers, squash, and cantaloupes. Usually there is corn and at least a couple of kinds of beans and several squash varieties along with eggplants, kale, and okra.

For a newbie, you are ambitious! Good luck with your garden!

Sandy

o

Welcome, TheKitchenette!

Lots of gardeners in VA, and lots of veggie gardeners too. I'm in Newport News, southeastern Virginia. Tomatoes, peppers, garlic, cucumbers, basil and other herbs, figs, raspberries, pomegranates, etc.

Here's a link to my blog if you are interested in what other Virginia gardeners are doing:

http://point09acres.blogspot.com/

Happy growing!
Dave

Here is a link that might be useful: .09 Acres

o