Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sandyinva

Hydrangeas: Are you growing these????

sandyinva
17 years ago

I have been hanging out on the hydrangea forum for several months before it occurred to me that I needed to be here. I am in Burke, and have a basically shady back yard, a few places get a couple of hours of sun, I want to plant an oakleaf, or maybe a lacecap, a limelight may need more sun??? along the back fence, it recieves a couople of hours of very late afternoon sun. I will consider anything that will grow higher than 4 feet, bloom and provide some privacy.

Also does anyone have a schizophragma Moonlight ???? I want to grow one up a pine. I know the petiolaris does well here as I pass one that is 30 feet or more on the way to work.

I purchased a mariesii variegata the other day, yet to be planted. Some people have told me that it will die back to the ground every year, others have told me that it will thrive to 5-7 feet. Certainly will make a difference where I will want to plant it.

So, as you can see, I am really confused. I love hydrangeas, I want to make the right choices for the right locations.

Thanks in advance,

sandyinva

Comments (14)

• lkaa
    17 years ago

I have several varieties, most growing in partial sun. These include:

* Nikko Blue -- 3 that get hot mid-day sun and wilt because of it and 1 that is in most shade and does GREAT -- all of which are about 5 years old now and about 5 feet tall and wide
    * Tardiva -- at least 7 feet tall and would be as wide but I pruned to keep in check
    * Limelight -- growing in mostly shade/dappled sun so it is about 5 feet tall (4 years old)
    * Glowing Embers -- growing in mostly shade/dappled sun, about 2 feet tall (4 years old)
    * an oakleaf variety that I can't remeber -- planted last fall but doing well with morning sun
    * Ayesha -- kept dying back to the ground and finally bit the dust after four years of trying.