Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
virginia_garden

Any butterfly gardeners here?

virginia-garden
15 years ago

I'm new to butterfly gardening and I'm loving it! I just started a garden this year so I expect next year will be even better. I'm still learning so I'd love to find someone in the area to share tip and stories with. Feel free to send me an email. Thanks!

Tammy

Comments (11)

• tbt3
    15 years ago

I live in Short Pump and have a nice bed that really draws them in (along with the bumblebees and hummingbirds) They seem drawn to some of the following: scabiosa, salvia (especially the black and blue) verbena, monardia, liatris, butterfly bush, and dill/fennel. I also recommend planting some milkweeds as the monarch catapillers really love munching on them.

Hope that's a start,
    TBT

• dogear6
    15 years ago

I don't have a butterfly garden, I have a butterfly farm in Short Pump! The black swallowtails have taken over my parsley patch and have been hatching caterpillars like crazy since the beginning of July. Last week was a bumper crop of close to 16 caterpillars (it was hard after a while to get an exact count). After these cocoon, that will probably be it as the parsley is now nearly gone.

I have let my oregano go to flower to give the new butterflies something to eat after they hatch.

• bobbic
    15 years ago

I have a butterfly garden over our pet cemetery :) I've planted five different colors of butterfly bush, butterfly weed, three different colors of monarda, and random scattered seeds from the butterfly/hummingbird combo seeds I bought at Lowe's, as well as letting sweet basil grow wild and go to flower, which butterflies seem to really swarm when it's at its peak. There's a whole forum for butterfly gardening, although a lot of it is about collecting and raising caterpillars which is far above what I'm capable of :) The FAQ there is wonderful, though.

• dogear6
    15 years ago