Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
aussiegirlinva

Plants for West wall

aussiegirlinva
16 years ago

I am new to the USA and have a courtyard wall facing west. I have a long garden bed with nothing in it yet. I want to plant some kid friendly plants and maybe a vine to cover the wall. It does get very hot there in summer. Any suggestions? We have put in soil and compost so are ready to go.

Comments (2)

• meldy_nva
    16 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Hmmm... are the kids old enough to understand that just because it's growing doesn't mean it's okay to taste? Otherwise, your area is fantastic for gardening. Choose plants that are hardy from zone 5 (to get through the winter) to zone 8 (to get through the summer).

Okay, you're right that a west-facing wall is going to get plenty hot. Unless there is a tree for shade [more westerly than the wall], I'd want vines to cover as much as possible during the summer. Think trellising, since most vines do better if they have something to hold onto, and it's healthier to allow air circulation between plant and wall. If the wall is brick, invest in brick clips to hold the trellis cording or net.

Climbing roses come in long-blooming and in thornless varieties. You will likely need a sprayer to use a mild milk or baking soda solution to prevent blackspot [poisons are NOT recommended]. Clematis comes in many colors and heights, is sturdy, trouble-free, and often re-blooms. If you like to experiment, try climbing scarlet-runner beans for a change of pace [summers only].

Mid-height to tall plants could include buddleia - a marvelous draw for butterflies; an evergreen a one side would give you winter color. I'd put an elderberry to the other side for spring blossoms, summer shade and fall color (and the berries are good for jelly). Joe Pye Weed is interesting, and fairly tolerant although happier with regular water.