Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
liacatherine

Caring for roses ... please help a gardening idiot!

liacatherine
17 years ago

My husband and I just bought a house in central VA (Richmond area). With it came a beautiful yard with lots of lovely roses. All we had at our last home was some low-maintenance azaleas, so I'm a complete novice.

With fall finally here, please tell me what I should be doing to get the most out of (or at least not destroy!) these flowers. Am I supposed to be pruning them, or does that happen in spring? And how exactly do I prune them?

Comments (3)

• gardener_sandy
    17 years ago

Roses should not be pruned now. Pruning during a moderately warm fall will cause new growth that will freeze over the winter. In our climate, most roses are best pruned in late winter just as the buds begin to swell. You can do selective pruning of dead branches at anytime but the general pruning should wait.

What county are you in or are you in the city? You can call your local extension office for lots of helpful publications on caring for roses in our area. They will cover pruning, spraying, and other basics. (If you're in Chesterfield, the number is 751-4401. The other offices are listed in the blue pages of the phone book.)

• gelee
    17 years ago

Follow Sandy's advice and wait until late winter to prune the rose bushes down to about 2 feet high.

If you have a cane or two that is unusually tall, tall enough to be damaged in high winds or to damage other canes with thorns or rubbing, trim those back but not the whole bush. You want to cut it/them just back far enough so that they don't blow wildly into each other. Look for a leaf with 5 leaves which faces outward away from the center of the bush and cut there at about a 45 degree angle.

If you can't find a 5 leaf break, settle for a 3.