Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
wcthomas_gw

Planted garlic yesterday

wcthomas
11 years ago

I bought a second home in Floyd last month with 25 acres in the Blue Ridge Mountains, and finally got my new garden started! I had a local farmer plow a 50' x 80' plot of virgin grass land for me and have been working on preparing the garlic bed, so yesterday I planted 400 cloves total of Russian Red, Estonian Red, German Red, German White, and Music. Today it gets a thick straw mulch for the winter.

The soil looks nice - rich brown and friable, appears to be a silt/clay loam with good drainage. I'll leave the rest of the garden rough until spring, and then disk or till it for the rest of the crops. I'll be growing over 20 vegetables with the emphasis on tomatoes, onions, garlic, peppers, and corn.

It's so nice to finally have a large sunny garden! I have been growing veggies for over 35 years, but my garden in NJ for the last 20 years only gets 4-5 hours of sun, so I have been very limited. That garden is now closed!

Lovely State y'all have here! It was thrilling yesterday evening after getting the garlic in, standing in the middle of my future garden on top of the hill, all dirty and stiff, breathing fresh air, and watching the sun set over the mountains. I think I'm going to enjoy it here!

Tom

Comments (4)

• coffeehaus
    11 years ago

Welcome to the Old Dominion, Tom. Floyd Co. is a lovely spot.
    That's a lot of garlic! All for personal use? What was your source for those varieties?

• wcthomas
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thanks Coffeehaus! Garlic is easy to over plant when you have the room as it is such a fun crop. I have been growing about 250 garlic bulbs in past years for personal use, about half for canning salsa and tomato sauce and the rest for cooking, roasting, drying, and freezing. Admittedly we have not been able to consume it all and are still eating frozen garlic from the 2011 harvest.