Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tulips101_gw

help with fungus knats

tulips101
11 years ago

Could some one help me by telling me how to use diatomasius earth on my worm bins the knats are starting to get out of hand im new at this.

Comments (9)

• mr_yan
    11 years ago

While I can't help with the diatomaceous earth question I can relay what I do for the small flying critters.

First off a thick layer of bedding over the top will help. If there is no exposed food there is nothing to attract them and keep them. Any eggs that do hatch will be trapped under the bedding. It is a long term solution but will work with patients.

Do you have a sewing machine? I made a bonnet out of thin sheer fabric and some elastic band to fit over the top of my bin. This will still allow for air but exclude the movement of gnats and flies. Look at the worm inn and see how it has a zip close top. This won't stop an infestation but will keep them from invading the house. At times I have taken my whole bin outside and opened the top to let numerous flies out to die in a northern Illinois winter.

• 11otis
    11 years ago

What I read so far, DE will not kill gnats. I have bought hypoapsis mites from The Bug Factory once.

http://www.thebugfactory.ca/pages/products/hypoaspis/?phpMyAdmin=qvaIcfZWsq4X1j5Qpdh%2Cjgi19z2

It reduced the amount of gnats I had but then there are always new ones coming from somewhere. The h. mites should be able to live and become part of the bin population but that doesn't seem the case in my bins. You can also buy nematodes.
    My solution: I built a wooden larger bin and consolidated the RM and it's outside. Buying the h.mites or nematodes is getting too costly.
    If you can't move the bins outside, mr_yan's suggestion is a good one. I have noticed that gnats can still crawl out of the tiniest opening around the lid though.

• sbryce_gw
    11 years ago

Hang a no-pest strip near the bin. Read the cautions on the package before using this solution.