Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
margored

What NOT to feed worms

margored
18 years ago

I'm a relative newbie to vermicomposting and anticipate setting up a workbin sometime in the next month or two. I read "Worms Eat My Garbage" and have browsed many of the postings on this site; yet I'm still a little hazy on the specifics of what foods are off-limits. I've run into some contradictory info. For example, some say no dairy or meat, but "Worms Eat My Garbage" refers to school programs that feed lunchroom scraps to worms. I'm sure worms have their subjective tastes (and many have posted about their worms' "favorites"), but I'd like some firmer guidelines before I set up my bin.

Below is a list of foods I've read you SHOULDN'T feed red worms. None of this is official, and some of these could well be urban myth. If I'm off on something, could someone please correct me?

What Not to Feed Worms:

*Salt & Foods Cooked with Salt

Why: salt bad for worms

*Oils

Why: they inhibit digestion + they smell

*Dairy

Why: could stink up indoor bins and attract pests outdoors

*Meat

Why: could stink up indoor bins and attract pests outdoors

*Beans

Why: no idea, I just remember someone saying this was a No-No

*Citrus

Why: too much could disrupt the bin PH

*Corn Cobs

Why: won't break down

*Hard fruit peels (ex. avocado, banana)

Why: difficult to break down/digest

*Seeds

Why: difficult to break down

*Too much coffee

why: grounds could upset PH balance

Comments (3)

• sqh1
    18 years ago

I have lots of bins, both indoors and out.
    Salt: would have the same effect as pouring salt on a slug..:(
    Lots of oil: will coat their skin and they could not breathe