Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mrmajik_gw

help!

MrMajik
13 years ago

Hi All, im quite new to worm composting, about 2 month i've been at it now.

All has been great, my bin is a home made bin i made out of one of those BIG buckets of popcorn with a small pipe drilled in to the bottom for a spiggot.

i have reserched the feed carefuly and ballenced there feeding with variaties fo their "fave" foods mixed with powdered eggshell tea and coffee. they have gone from strenght to strength and heave bred very well.

Today i found 2 dead worms which is nothing to worry about except for the state i found them in, one wan near the top of the bin in quite a mangled condition, the other... which i noticed from the side as it's see through (but kept in the dark except for when i "investgate")... looks as if it's been stabbed!? there is a bloody patch a little up from the clitellum.

this is an indoor bin and what goes in is vary cafuly chosen. there is nothing else living in the bin with the exception of a couple of fruit flys.

im going to empty the bin tomorrow and have a thorough investigation but if any one has any ideas as to the pos problem ANY info would be appreciated.

i was thinking maybe with it being so small that over the past couple of month i've fed more than they can eat and given them "sour crop" poisening?

Any Ideas?

Comments (6)

• PRO
    equinoxequinox
    13 years ago