Return to the Vermicomposting Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
little white eggs

Posted by vtwiggler none (My Page) on
Wed, Jan 5, 11 at 20:21

Hello there, I am new to worm farming. The beginning of December I started three worm beds; one with peat moss one with shredded news paper one with shredded news paper soaked in loam for a few days. I started off under feeding them for a week or two to get adjusted. Then I started feeding then the proper amounts and they would eat it. I was covering my beds with wet cardboard and found that it dries out too quickly, and I switched one bed over to soaked oak leaves and held moisture better. The whole time I had a problem with fruit flies, even if the food was a little under the soil. My concern now is directly after I switched to Oak leaves, in that bed I got thousands of little white egg things. If I examine them closely they move, so I don't think they are eggs. I have an enormous amount of fruit flies. All my beds smell like a hand full of goodness as if you were to roll over a half decomposed log in the forest. I would like to know what the white things are. The worms don't seem to mind them.

Thank you for your time.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: little white eggs

Oh yeah, sounds like mites. Leaves and grass, those will bring them in. Harmless though.

He's a page on lots of the lovely creatures you might now be discovering (good pics) :). Mites and springtails being very common but no worries as they don't leave the bin. Springtails might try... but die in the dry air almost instantly.

http://www.redwormcomposting.com/category/worm-bin-creatures/

o

I've got mites in mine too. If I use damp newspaper as a cover under the lid and change it out frequently, I can thin them out pretty well, but the worms don't care. A house plant fanatic friend of mine did suggest that before I used the compost I might heat it to kill them off. Apparently some mites can be detrimental to plants.