Return to the Vermicomposting Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Do worm castings work for all types of plants?

Posted by presidiogarden (My Page) on
Mon, Feb 27, 12 at 2:49

I am a pretty amateur vegetable gardener and I really want to get a good start on the upcoming season. I have tilled my raised beds and added last years' worth of vermicompost into the soil.
I bought some great seeds from Seed Savers consisting of:

Rainbow Chard
Golden Midget Watermelon
Dragon Carrot
Kolb Tomato
Gold Medal Tomato
Merveille Des Quatre Saisons Lettuce
Butterhead Lettuce
Butterfly Weed (to attract butterflies and bees)
Red Wethersfield Onion
Dwarf Blue Curled Kale
Arugula
Red Romaine
Spinach
Blueberries
Artichoke
Bee's Friend (to attract bees)

Will vermicompost work with all of these types of plants as fertilizer?
Also, is there such thing as too much vermicompost?
I am planning on companion gardening so I would like to be able to use the same soil for all of these fruits and veggies.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Do worm castings work for all types of plants?

I use worm castings on all of my plants: veggies, perennials, shrubs, trees, lawn, house plants, even my indoor catci. They all seem to benefit.

While it is always possible to overdo something, most plants would enjoy as much worm poop as you have to give them. If you are talking about an outdoor garden where you have mixed the castings into the soil, then you probably have not applied too much. Castings are very water soluble and will wash away fairly quickly, IME. I like to mix them with water to apply as a spoil drench in light doses over the season and use regular compost as a soil amendment to dig into my beds, but I don't think you have done anything wrong.

Your plants are all going to want the same garden loam with plenty of organic material (again, regular compost) except the blueberries, which require acidic soil to do well. Not sure where you are located, but if you are in SF, watermelons will want a hotter climate.