Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
myrhyme

Temperature

Myrhyme
10 years ago

Hi all, I'm a newbie getting ready to start my first worm bin. I have been planning on setting up my system in my unfinished basement but I'm a bit concerned about temperature. The temp hovers around 50 F and probably won't get much warmer for several months. Is this too low? I've read around and gathered that too cold is better than too hot, but I'm not sure if this low will really work.

If it is too low any ideas for how to raise the temp in and around the bin? It's not feasible for me to put the bin somewhere else (read: my wife won't let me put it anywhere else), but would a heat lamp of some sort do the trick?

Comments (9)

• PRO
    equinoxequinox
    10 years ago

It will work. It will work s-l-o-w-l-y. Too slowly for my wants and needs. I keep vermicomposting worms in the basement at about that temperature. They survive and in the Worm Inn lay eggs. They do not seem to explode in numbers. I would like them to populate the bin faster and make vermicastings way faster than they do. To make the bin warmer I have added in rice and bread. I do not know they have made much or any heat. Rice and bread seem to make the bin less of a nice place to visit. So I do not put those in often. I would see if any tiny reptile heat mats are water proof. Don't want to use $$$ in electricity. 20 degrees warmer temperature would make vermicomposting much more exciting.

This post was edited by equinoxequinox on Thu, Feb 13, 14 at 18:32

• PRO
    equinoxequinox
    10 years ago

Just learned of a new product called a thermo cube. It is a plug. When the temperature is below 35 it turns on. Above 45 it turns off. This is for heat tape. Handy for those who have their worms in the garage.

• whatscooking
    10 years ago