Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
inthebasement

Food preparation

inthebasement
15 years ago

I am getting very anxious because my worms have not yet arrived. I am prepared for them though, and I have a container in the fridge for worm food. That brings me to my question.

I had some shrively strawberries, and some leftover macaroni. A little ketchup too. I put it all in a container and zipped it with a stick blender. So it is all now the consistencey of baby food. Is it better to make it a pasty consistency or better to leave it as larger pieces? My guess would be that the paste method would be best, but hey, I am new to this and am somewhat clueless at this point.

Comments (6)

• sbryce_gw
    15 years ago

Pasty food is subject to becoming anaerobic, a condition that should rectify itself in a day or two, as long as you don't overfeed. Also pasty food will release it water too quickly, and cause the bin to become too wet. If your bin is well-drained, that should not be a problem.

If you can grind it down to very small chunks, you should be fine. I grind mine up with an old meat grinder. If I feed a lot at once, it will smell for a day or two, but after that things seem to be fine.

Go easy on the macaroni. It will get moldy before it breaks down. The worms don't like the mold. Once the mold does its thing, and the bacteria takes over, the worms will have a feast. Add it in small amounts, well mixed into the rest of the food.

• eric30
    15 years ago

Also, be careful with the ketchup. Salt and vinegar are on the list of no-nos. A small amount probably wont hurt them but I would lay off of it in the future.

Personally I think that processing food for the worms is inventing work. I put food in chunks; it takes longer to break down but they are on top of it when it does. Is there a reason why you want to puree everything, do you want them to work faster and get compost quicker?

• pyropunk
    15 years ago