Return to the Vermicomposting Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Feeding on Paper Goods

Posted by SelenaD-Composter none (My Page) on
Sun, Feb 23, 14 at 18:05

I am new to composting and am not sure which papers are OK and not OK. I set up my bin with the provided cardboard base and then put a layer of newspaper shreds. So I know newspaper and cardboard are ok. I am currently wondering about egg cartons and gift tissue paper.

What are your worms' favorite paper goods and how often do you give it to them? Are there any paper products that are often thrown away but could be put in the bin?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Feeding on Paper Goods

Egg cartons are wonderful in the bin! I wouldn't use the tissue paper at all because of the dye. Plain black and white paper is best; nothing coloured or glossy.

o

"Are there any paper products that are often thrown away but could be put in the bin?"

Paper towels and napkins,toilet tissue roll tubes, dryer lint,paper super market bags to name a few. I don't make a great effort to sort out colored and slick paper. There is no proof the ink isn't safe and slick paper isn't as readly consumed but eventualy decay.

o

Dryer lint will have synthetic fibers that won't decompose. Glossy paper is printed with a thin layer of varnish over the ink, which I would not put in the bin.

o

sbryce said it right. Dryer lint is made up of many textiles, much of which doesn't break down.

With access to so much paper......newspapers, cardboard, phone books, confidential records, all which are perfect for the bin, why bother with tissue paper and glossy fliers and magazine type paper? These are best recycled, and out of the worm bins. I don't have enough room to keep a lot of shredded and torn paper. I still recycle newspapers and fliers etc regularly.

This post was edited by jasdip on Fri, Feb 28, 14 at 16:25

o

Most egg cartons are ok but I wouldnt use the colored ones not sure what that material is. The gray ones should be good to use.

o