Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rosabel_gw

Started today with my worm bin

rosabel
14 years ago

I bought 12 red wigglers from petsmart, and i placed them in my cardboard bedding bin and i also added scraps. When i got them from petsmart they were in a fridge, they told me that they were hibernating, they are in the bin but they seem to move very slow and only when i tapped them. Is this normal? How often should i feed them? This is my first time, but im really excited. Also, the bin i used is clear on the sides should cover with dark paper?

Comments (4)

• PRO
    equinoxequinox
    14 years ago

Were the worms in any bedding? Did you spread them out or leave them in a happy group in their bedding? They might benifit from some food that has been frozen first or blenderized. Just to start. You are going to be looking for eggs. These will be the first sign they are multiplying. You are not going to want to harvest for a while because you want to save every egg you can. It will take a while but you saved money and get to enjoy the hobby right now. In the spring you may find more in compost piles. With the amount of worms being small you will have to super guard against over feeding. That cardboard and more you add as you go along will be your friend in keeping the bin airated and evenly moist.

May your micro herd soon become a maxi herd.

• rosabel
    Original Author
    14 years ago

thanks for your posting very helpful.

• african
    14 years ago

Hi rosabel,