Return to the Vermicomposting Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
bananas in the compost heap

Posted by gmw1 9 (My Page) on
Sat, Mar 12, 11 at 12:09

I have a question about banana peels. Everyone knows they use really heavy pesticides on bananas they ship to the US, due to all the really nasty bugs which hijack ships sometimes, like fireants and tarantulas... is it really a good idea to put these skins into the worm bins? How does it affect them to have all those pesticides in there?

would like osme confirmation that worms tolerate them ok before I put in anymore.

Thanks!
gmw1

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: bananas in the compost heap

here is a long discussion on the subject. it's probably better to precompost your peels first before adding them to the worm bin

http://vermicomposters.ning.com/forum/topics/banana-peel-experience

o

I have been putting banana peels in my bins for 6 months and the worms are doing great--they're multipying like crazy and I haven't noticed any strange looking worms that might have been affected by pesticides.

I will have to check out the website mentioned, though.

o
RE: Forgot to add

I should probably add that I don't peel the banana and toss the peels into the bins. I mix them together with my vegies and then freeze them. I have not found any peels (even the stem) left in the bins.

o
just read some of the comments

I just read some of the comments in that thread on banana peels. Some of the comments were on the lack of their worms increasing like they thought they should. I started with 1000 worms in an 18 gal. bin in Oct. 2010 and now have 3 -18 gal bins which are loaded with worms--adults, juveniles, babies, cocoons. I tried an experiment with 20 adults in a small box. After 3 months I had over 400 adults and juveniles--and they ate banana peels.

If you just don't know what to do because you're still leery of the peels, I'd add just toss the peels.

o