Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tlyn589

vermicomposting mess!!!

tlyn589
14 years ago

Hi,

I'm new to vermicomposting. I got my worm bin around September, and have been adding compost to it ever since. At this point my bin is almost completely full, and I have a feeling the worms have over populated, there are soo soo many of them. For the last month I've been trying to add food to only one half of the bin, but there are just so many worms that they are not coming out of the other half. It is impossible to harvest!!! I am moving May 1st, and would really like to harvest this before I go, because my boyfriend will not be impressed having to carry around a 60 pound bin of worm crap. I have a community garden plot, but it is winter here and the frost does not go away until the middle of May. What do I doooooo??????

ANY SUGGESTIONS PLEASE!

Thank you!!!

Comments (5)

• PRO
    equinoxequinox
    14 years ago

What a great oppertunity!

Contact the e-mail list of your community garden plot and offer free vermicomposting worms. That would be real community and you would get to know your fellow gardeners and start the sharing ball rolling. Mayby 5 will reply. Give 10 pounds of the bins wormy contents to each of 5 very happy new vermicomposters and keep 10 pounds for your boyfriend to move. Oh, and stop feeding them now in preperation for moving day.

• bobbi_socal
    14 years ago

I completely agree with equinoxequinox!!

I'm in So Cal and desperate to find someone to share their worms so I can start bins for our school. People would be thrilled to take it off your hands, and appreciative to not have to pay $3/50 worms!

• maryld_gardener
    14 years ago

Once the weather warms up you can use sunlight to move the worms. They move a way from light. I put the finished bin in a sunny spot and skim off an inch or 2 of compost at a time. Eventually the worms are concentrated at the bottom and are easy to move.

• rickd59
    14 years ago